IMPORTANT INFORMATION

COVID-19 UPDATE – HOME CLOSED TO VISITORS

As the situation with COVID-19 continues to evolve, our focus is on the wellbeing of our residents and employees, and we have made the difficult decision to close the home to all visitors. We are following government guidance and taking additional steps to minimise the risk of any outbreak in our homes and we are working hard to prepare for a scenario where residents or staff members are effected by the outbreak.

Please click here for more information.
Katherine House

Katherine House, Cote House Lane
Westbury on Trym, Bristol BS9 3UW

Telephone: 0117 987 3540

Email: info@katherinehouse.co.uk

Testimonials

Testimonials

We listen carefully to the voice of our residents in shaping our care, making them feel fully at home. Here is a representative selection of their comments and a flavour of testimonials from their families and healthcare professionals.


FAMILY MEMBERS

"To Everyone at Katherine and Griffiths House,

Just a very quick email to say a big 'Thank You' to you all for all your hard work and continual care for my Mum (Judith Pike) and all the other residents.

I imagine at times it has been very difficult and frightening.... you are all really appreciated.

My sister Helen passes on anything we need to know and it was lovely to see the pictures of Mum taken on her birthday... Thank you.


Complement provided by daughter of resident at Katherine House"


"You guys are doing such a wonderful job of keeping everyone's spirits up. Thank you for all the love and smiles.

A big thank you to all of the staff who are doing amazing things to keep Thelma and the rest of the residents safe and happy in such difficult times.

Complement provided by son of resident at Katherine House.
"


"Hi Sabina,
This is so kind of you, the photo made me cry! You are so thoughtful and I can't express how grateful I am for your kindness to Mum.
I spent three hours with her yesterday and I was so grateful to be allowed into KH. It was a very calm and gentle time.

Complement provided by daughter of resident at Katherine House

"


"Hi Emily
Thank you so much for sending me those pictures. They're absolutely gorgeous!!
I just spoke to mum and she really enjoyed the activity. So thank you so much for all your marvelous input.
Thank you so much again, I really appreciate the communication.

Comment provided by son of resident at Katherine House
"


"Thanks so much for helping Mum with the iPad

I did not think I would ever be getting emails from my 86 year old Mum so its amazing to get her email and I know she could never have done it with out you so thanks so much.

I sent Mum some emails today with some photos so I hope you can save them and show them to her

Comment provided by son of resident at Katherine House on 12 March 2020
"


"This is home to 40 people - a real home. Residents are encouraged to make friends and join in everything on offer. Many activities are provided each day. The day is exceptionally well structured and all residents are treated as individuals with a high degree of independence. Whilst my uncle has slowly deteriorated in his capacity to make decisions, he has improved in many other ways since he started living in his 'new home'. He is more mobile, he has more friends and close companies, he is more engaged in activity and creativity and he is more outspoken on all issues relating to older people in care. I know it's difficult and expensive but broadening opportunities after dinner in the evening would be beneficial to some residents.

Review submitted by Neil F (Friend of Resident) on 17 September 2019"


"My mum has been a resident at Katherine House for over 4 years now and I cannot recommend this home highly enough. If our family have any concerns regarding Mum's health then we know it will be acted on quickly. Staff really seem to enjoy working in the home and care for the residents. They seem to have a genuine affection for Mum, pay her compliments when she has had her hair done or she is wearing something new or different.
Safeguarding could have been an issue due to Mum's divorce but we were always reassured the correct procedures were in place to ensure it was carried out as requested.
Afternoon activities are always available for all residents which are varied and suit all types of abilities and needs. Mum attends these which has included external visits to local sites and attractions.

Review submitted by Claire H (Daughter of Resident) on 24 June 2019"


"Katherine House staff give all the residents respect, dignity and outstanding care. The staff go over and above their duties to ensure all the residents are happy and feel cared for.
The rooms are bright and airy and it is no problem adding some personal items to make it seem more like home.
The activities that the team arrange are varied and fun.
I would highly recommend Katherine House.

Review submitted by Vanessa K (Daughter of Resident) on 19 June 2019"


"Generally, Katherine House is a good institution. It is pleasant to visit and the staff are friendly, caring and nice. My mother has been there for three years and feels that she is in the best place. Her only real complaint is the food. You would have to judge for yourself. The rooms vary a bit in size and outlook, with the ones at the back getting the sunset view and on the ground floor direct access to the terrace but they possibly get a bit hot in the summer.
I feel the staff and management do try and make a difference.
Locally there are some large grounds just above Katherine House which some residents visit and I take my mum in her wheelchair which is a nice convenient excursion, albeit there is a fairly steep climb. The Downs are also quite handy.
Parking is easy, I don't think there has ever been a time with no space available.

Review submitted by John M (Son of Resident) on 23 November 2018"


"My mother has always been cared for with dignity and respect and the staff have looked after her as if she was their own.

Review submitted by Ruth Y (Daughter of Resident) on 23 August 2018"


"My Mum is 94 and has been at Katherine House for three months. Everyone here has been friendly and approachable. My Mum says that the staff are kind and helpful. There is a relaxed, calm atmosphere with comfortable lounges and a bright, airy dining room. Mum enjoys the meals.

Every day there is an organised activity which residents can attend if they wish. There are visiting PAT dogs each week which are very much appreciated. We really enjoyed the Royal Wedding Garden Party and look forward to the next party. Katherine House is very homely and welcoming. I would definitely recommend it.
Celia (Daughter of Resident) on Thursday 21 June 2018."


"Katherine House provides comfortable, purpose-built accommodation for older adults.
It is a light and airy building which is very well maintained.
The atmosphere in Katherine House is a positive one and this is achieved by the warm, cheery, can do attitudes of most of the staff who work there.
The care is very person-centred and flexible.
There is an activities programme which provides a range of stimulating events which are organised by an enthusiastic team.
My mother's quality of life has greatly improved since moving there.
Staff are approachable and I feel they genuinely do their best for the residents.
Their willingness and efforts to get to work during bad weather were impressive. No agency staff are used which means residents receive continuity of care from care staff who know them

How likely would you be to recommend Katherine House? Extremely Likely
Review submitted by Catherine E (Daughter of Resident)
on Sunday 24 June 2018. "


"Katherine House is always welcoming to all visitors, it cares at the highest possible level both for residents and those of us who take personal responsibility for the residents. They are very committed with weekly and monthly notices. Every effort is made to immediately address any issues raised both at the care and administrative fronts. The house is exceptionally clean, well appointed and modern.

Residents are well known to all staff, relatives and those of us with POA are encouraged to join in as many activities as possible. Staffing is very stable and over the years very few have changed.

June 2018
"


"We would like to thank you and all the staff for their kindness to my Mother whilst she has been at Katherine House. She has really enjoyed her time here and you will be a tough act to follow. The friendly, patient and loving atmosphere that mum has experienced has been wonderful. Thank you. I know she will miss you all and we would not be moving her if we hadn't moved to Christchurch to be near our daughter and our imminent grandson.

May 2018"


"I'd just like to express my gratitude to the staff at Katherine House for their care and kindness during the recent snowfall. The staff are always wonderful, but really went the extra mile during difficult conditions to make sure that my father, and all the residents, were comfortable, warm, well-fed and cared for. What an amazing team!
Please pass on my heartfelt thanks to everyone.
With much appreciation,

March 2018
"


"My father was resident at Katherine House from the age of 89 until he died at the age of 93.
He was extremely well looked after by the staff. I was always impressed by all levels of management at Katherine House and he was very happy and fond of all the staff who cared for him.
His room was very pleasant and the home is set in a very attractive environment in a lovely part of the city.

July 2017"


"An extremely supportive and understanding staff group, my experience is that ALL staff have a real care and concern for alll residents. A very individualised service offer. Communication with guardians nad relatives is brilliant. The range of activities is highly suitable for residents and the venue always has a cheerful and happy appearance.

July 2017"


"This is a lovely modern care home, set in a nice peaceful position, the staff are wonderful and the rooms are well appointed. This was Gran's second stay at Katherine House, making our choice of home more easy, as we knew she would be well cared for by the very attentive staff."


"My father resided at Katherine House for 2 years from aged 99 until he died peacefully there at the age of 101. He really regarded the place as home, loved the staff as they did him and was exceptionally well cared for in his final days including nursing care which was highly professional and delivered in a very respectful and loving way. The management staff were also really helpful throughout his stay, the food was good and the kitchen staff lovely and the building and grounds superb - we enjoyed some beautiful times set in the gardens. The home never felt or smelt like a residential home.."


"The staff at this home are really good, caring, compassionate and friendly. The food is good and residents' preferences and whims are catered for, it is very clean and there is a lovely atmosphere. Our relative was there for more than two and a half years and was content to be there. We wholeheartedly recommend the home.."


"My Father resided at Katherine House from October 2012 until his death in July 2015 and my Mother was there from July 2013 until her death in February 2014. Both were looked after superbly. I cannot fault the care they received or the kindness of the staff."


"As a first care home following my mother's loss of sight, it was important to choose very carefully. Katherine House staff are simply the best! A good management team and truly caring care staff helped make my mother's transition from being mostly independent to requiring supported care as easy as possible in what is a difficult time for both resident and their families... The atmosphere was cheerful, safe, clean, and very caring, and Mum felt valued, respected and loved by all. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful home.
"


PROFESSIONALS

"As well as my own positive view of KH, I receive frequent positive comments from the residents about the quality of their care and surroundings. (GP)"


"I have found staff efficient and helpful and the building tidy and clean. (Community Nurse)"


"The staff are always helpful whenever I need any advice or assistance regarding the residents; they are also friendly and there is always a welcoming atmosphere when I come in. (Visiting Chiropodist)"


RESIDENTS

"Activities are very good and enterprising. It helps to liven up our day. Some are very interesting."


"I feel overall staff really care about the residents. I am very happy to be here!"


"I am happy to come here as my family were worried about my falls and I would have been on my own - I wasn't keen on that either! When I had a fall the other night, I was able to reach for the bell and two staff came immediately and picked me up and patched me up, for which I am very grateful."


"I am very happy with the way I am treated here, especially in the mornings when I get up."


"The food here is home from home."


Katherine House

Care Quality Commission

The Care Quality Commission recently inspected Katherine House and found us to be compliant in all areas, awarding us, in August 2019, with a 'GOOD' CQC care rating in Safe, Effective, Caring and Well led, and OUTSTANDING in Responsive. We are proud to provide excellent care and always strive to make residents and their relatives comfortable and welcome. You can view the online report here
more >

Care Quality Commission

Quality Care


more >